MSO Family Pops: Once Upon A Symphony...

Download as iCal file
Sunday, October 20, 2019 at  3:00pm

Near and dear to Maestro Octavio Mas-Arocas' heart is family, and with this in mind is the newly created Family Pops concert. Designed with the family in mind, this concert will take you to magical places together through Fairytales and Dreams.

What's Interesting About This Concert

    • Love of the Three Oranges (Prokofiev) is based on an Italian fairytale. The synopsis is that a king, who only had one son, anxiously waited for him to marry. One day, the prince cut his finger and his blood fell on white cheese. The prince declared that he would only marry a woman as white as the cheese and as red as the blood, so he set out to find her.
    • Swan Lake was first performed on March 4, 1877, and was regarded as a failure. Critics dismissed Tchaikovsky’s music as too noisy. Dancers disliked the fast-paced score. It wasn’t until after Tchaikovsky’s death that French choreographer, Marius Petipa, revived the iconic ballet.
    • Ravel's Mother Goose Suite is quite popular, but his most famous piece is often considered Boléro. Boléro was given its first performance at the Paris Opéra on November 20, 1928. The premiere was acclaimed by a shouting, stamping, cheering audience in the midst of which a woman was heard screaming: “Au fou, au fou!” (“The madman! The madman!”). When Ravel was told of this, he reportedly replied: “That lady… she understood.”
    • Igor Stravinsky was only 28 years old when he composed The Firebird Suite. The strength of this composition would lead to a long period of collaboration between Stravinsky and Sergei Diaghilev, the founder of Ballet Russes, which would produce two more iconic ballets: Petrushka and Rite of Spring.

The full repertoire for the concert is:

S. Prokofiev: March from Love of the Three Oranges suite 2’

P. L. Tchaikovsky: Suite from Swan Lake 12’

       Scene 1. Swan Theme

       Dance des Cygnes

       Valse in A

M. Falla: Ritual Fire Dance 4’

S. Day: King's Court 6’

R. Wagner, arr. Carlin: Procession of the Meistersingers 4’

M. Ravel: Mother Goose Suite 18’

Frozen: Suite 7-9'

A. Borodin: Prince Igor, Polovtsian Dances 12’

I. Stravinsky: Suite from Firebird 6’

        Berceuse and Finale

Mansfield Symphony Youth Strings will join the MSO on particular repertoire in this concert, and MY Theatre will perform selections from Frozen Jr.


Series Presenter

OhioHealth Symphony Series

with Support From

      Metronome Music

All tickets purchased online and via phone are available for pick up at the Renaissance Box Office will call window prior to the event or during normal business hours. Discounts are not available for online sales. Discounts and promotions are available only by visiting or calling the Renaissance Box Office during normal business hours.

Single Tickets






General Admission Price: 22.00





Student Seats Price: 15.00

Member Pricing

For member only pricing, login to the member portal.

Member Portal

Purchase History

Log in to view purchase history, print receipts or tickets, or update your contact info.

Patron Portal

Group Sales

Groups of 10 or more are eligible for a discount! Call the Box Office at (419) 522-2726 for more info.

Important Dates

Season Subscriptions go on sale: May 31, 2019 for Annual Members June 18, 2019 for General Public Single Tickets go on sale: June 25, 2019 for Annual Members July 9, 2019 for General Public

Doors Information

Buy Tickets

Sign-up for Updates

Single tickets for this show are not available to the public yet.
See the schedule below to see the on sale dates:


2019-2020 Subscriptions On Sale:

May 31, 2019 for Annual Members 
June 18, 2019 for Non-Members 

2019-2020 Single Tickets On Sale:

June 25, 2019 for Annual Members 
July 9, 2019 for Non-Members


To join as a member, purchase a season subscription, for any questions, please
contact our Box Office at (419) 522-2726 during open hours, Tuesday through Friday, 12-5 PM.

Close ×